SO WHAT DO YOU DO?

We often get confused with the difference between a job, a career, and a calling. I bet you didn’t know that my first job was in an orange juice factory, but I got canned. I couldn’t concentrate. Then I went up north and worked as a lumberjack, but I just couldn’t cut it so they gave me the axe. Finally I tried an inside job and was trained as a tailor, but it soon became obvious that I wasn’t suited for it. You know I am kidding, don’t you? Unfortunately, it does sound like a familiar scenario to many who go from job to job trying to find something that suits (oops) them. This is very confusing to many men in our culture (more than women, I think) who still tend to define themselves by their occupation. I think it might help if we first establish our “calling.” Dr. Timothy Butler of the Harvard Business School acknowledges this: “There are three words that tend to be used interchangeably- and shouldn’t be. They are “vocation,”  “career,” and “job.” Vocation is the most profound of the three because it has to do with your calling. It is what you are doing in life that makes a difference for you, that builds meaning for you, that you can look back on in your later years to see the impact you’ve made on the world. A calling is something you have to listen for.”  I would define a calling as a proper use of my skill, passion, and gift-mix so that I might make a difference in this world for the Kingdom of God. A friend of mine once gave me a quote that I think is terrific: “A career is what you are paid for. A calling is what you are made for.”  What have you been made for? Just a thought…

One response to this post.

  1. This is really excellent! I very much understand this. Though I have not moved from job to job, I always wonder IF I am where I am called to be!
    I love to read how many bloggers get the same type of messages from God on the same days!! It always amazes me how many “recommended reading” suggestions come to me after I post my thoughts about what God is doing in my own life. It is all about confirmation! Blessings!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

