There’s Nothing Like a Really Good Quote

I love quotes. They are so cogent and memorable,
and sometimes they are even true. On the radio I heard someone say, “I have found the secret to longevity- don’t die.” I also like the quote attributed to Douglas Adams: “I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.” How about this one by David Letterman? “USA Today has come out with a new survey- apparently, three out of every four people make up 75% of the population.” Here is a new philosophy of life that I hope to experiment with this remaining summer and fall: “When the path ahead of you is uphill, surrounded by rough spots, hazards and obstacles; use a pitching wedge.” I like that. I also ran across some quotes about marriage. Dietrich Bonhoeffer once wrote to a young bride and groom while he was imprisoned by the Nazis in 1943, “It is not your love that sustains your marriage, but from now on it is the marriage that sustains your love.” Not bad counsel from a single guy. Leo Tolstoy once said, “What counts in making a happy marriage is not so much how compatible you are, but how you deal with your incompatibility.” Dr. Frank Pittman had a good one: “Marriage isn’t supposed to make you happy- it’s supposed to make you married.”  I think Frank stole that one from Yogi Berra. Probably the best way for me to finish would be to give you one of my own original sayings, but I can’t think of any because I’m still on vacation. So let me share this one from 1 Peter 4:8, “Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers a multitude of sins.”

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Paul on August 27, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    The secret to investment success is: Buy low, sell high.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

