Conversation with a Princess

disney-princessesI had a very refreshing conversation a few years ago at Dunkin Donuts with a very pretty young lady. We conversed about the tea party she was planning for that afternoon and the people she was going to invite. She called herself Cinderella and told me that I was Prince Charming. She also told me that she was inviting Snow White and few others to the party. I asked if all those dwarfs were coming. She said “just Dopey because he is too young for school.” Hmm… makes sense.

Are you wondering if I am losing my mind? You see, the charming young lady was my 4 year old granddaughter, Sophia (now 8). She and her little brother and her mom were visiting from out East for awhile. I have always enjoyed the opportunities to bond with her, especially at D and D’s. However, I found that in order to relate with her I had to study up about princes and princesses because these things were very important to her. I tried to pose a theological question, but she just continued to drink her chocolate milk and make faces at me. Can you believe that? Of course you can.

When you are trying to build a relationship with someone—anyone, you must become interested in what interests them. How do we expect people to listen to the gospel when we have not listened to them? Have you ever had the experience of having someone talk at you and not to you? So, you know how that feels. Proverbs 18:13 says “If one gives an answer before he hears, it is his folly and shame.” We want to engage people in conversation and an essential ingredient of that engagement is to listen to what interests them. If not, they may just drink their chocolate milk and make faces at us.

Back to Sophia… towards the end of our conversation we did get theological, but she brought it up— honestly! I had shared a little story about having a dog when I was young. She correctly assumed that the dog was dead by now and asked me whether I thought that dogs go to heaven. Like a good conversationalist I turned the question around and asked her whether she believed that. She said she did not know, but she believed that the little baby her mommy miscarried some years before was in heaven. Wow! I learned a lot that day from listening and talking to my little princess. It motivated me to do a better job with my neighbors.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Paul on April 5, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    Tangent Warning!!!

    The question of whether dogs go to heaven, itself, would make an equally good starting point for this “thought”. I have often wondered about this (and its application to other beloved pets). I have wondered about it particularly since losing a dog exactly nine weeks before her 13th birthday… which would have been yesterday. Sadly, grief over a lost pet is not to be shared lightly, as many people just do not understand the bond that some of us share with them. Worse, I have found that the question of whether dogs go to heaven tends to be dismissed out of hand by fellow Christians. I understand the skepticism; but a little sensitivity to the situation would go a long way.

    I have been blessed in my 41+ years to have not lost to death any human to whom I am very close. But I know something about my response to such an inevitable loss: my only consolation will be found in the hope of seeing them again in the next life. It stands to reason that a person who has lost a pet to death is not helped by an assurance that they will never see that beloved companion again. So if the subject ever comes up, listen (and think) before you speak.

    …A good rule in any situation.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cathy Franklin on April 5, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    What a sweet post!!! Very good analogy about listening and interacting with people! I find that there is way too much talk from people and not enough listeners.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kathy Lackos on April 5, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    In reading Randy Alcorn’s “Heaven” I can’t help but believe there will be God’s special creatures in heaven. Will they be our beloved pets? I don’t know…we can see such a wonderful example of unconditional love in our pets…God created them, He can populate heaven with them.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Tom Kost on April 5, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    Good thought Paul. I myself have lost a child at the age of 11 months. I have also lost quite a few pets. The feeling of loosing these loved ones is very hard. I think of them all at times. I grieve most for my little girl and don’t normally compare the loss of any animal and a human as the same. But your point is well taken. I too need to be sensitive to the loss of anything that is dear to the one loosing them.I need to listen better! I am sorry for your loss and hope that the Lord will continue to comfort you!

    Tom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

