Why?

the thinkerThis is going to be a busy weekend because it is my 105th class reunion from Wheaton College. I am looking forward to having about 20 of my old football buddies (and their wives) at my house on Saturday for doing up some “bangers on the barbie”- that’s Australian for a cookout. I spent some money reinforcing my deck so it will hold all that weight (not their wives). Then on Tuesday, I fly to Ethiopia for a week with Compassion International. All of that said, whenever I get overwhelmed with things I usually take them to the mat with God – that’s wrestling lingo for earnest prayer (Phil. 4:6, 7). And then I take a little time to just let my mind wander and my thoughts wonder about the mysteries of the universe. I would like to share with you some of the enigmas I have been contemplating lately; perhaps you have a few more you could share with me.

Why does the sun lighten our hair, but darken our skin?
Why can’t women put on mascara with their mouth closed?
Why doesn’t glue stick to the inside of the bottle?
Why don’t you ever see the headline “Psychic Wins Lottery?”
Why is “abbreviated” such a long word?
Why is a boxing ring square?
Why is it called lipstick if you can still move your lips?
Why is it considered necessary to nail down the lid of a coffin?
Why is it that doctors call what they do “practice”?
Why are vegetarians allowed to eat animal crackers?
Why is it that rain drops but snow falls?
Why is it that when you’re driving and looking for an address, you turn down the volume on the radio?
Why is lemon juice made with artificial flavor, and dishwashing liquid made with real lemons?
Why is the man who invests all your money called a broker?
Why is it impossible to swallow and spit at the same time?
Why isn’t there a mouse-flavored cat food?
You know that little indestructible black box that is used on planes, why can’t they make the whole plane out of the same substance? (Especially Ethiopian airplanes)
Why does God love someone like me?

Just a few thoughts- I guess you can tell its Friday.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cathie Godoy on May 10, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    Thanks for this weeks’ thoughts Pastor Dave. Have a great Wheaton College reunion weekend. I’ll be praying for God to accomplish His will through you during your trip to Ethiopia. We look forward to hearing about your time there when you get back.

    God’s blessings on all you do in His Name. Cathie Godoy (for Eric too) ☺

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cathy Franklin on May 10, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    I love it!! Made me smile and brightened my already busy hectic day!!!!Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sharon Knight on May 10, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    Was that all from one musing? Who says men can’t multi task. Laughed much and was reminded how much I miss your sermons at CC when I visit.
    Why was blue called blue and not pink?
    Blessings

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ed Caes on May 10, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Why is it that every time you take a drink of anything, you stick your nose in the glass or cup?

    Reply

  5. Posted by Tim Lorman on May 11, 2013 at 2:38 am

    The answer to the question. Why does God love someone like me? Is, it has nothing at all to do with me.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Gordon S on May 11, 2013 at 3:29 am

    105th class reunion…amazing!! Praying for you during this very busy week.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Katy S. on May 11, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    How can it be yur 105th class reunion? When you didn’t attend Wheaton College
    105 years ago, did you???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

